mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Conquering Mountains

Please watch this video and vote on whether or not I’m a mean father for not helping my daughter climb a fake rock at the playground.

As I was going over this video, my wife says to me, “Why didn’t you help her? She’s asking you to help her so she can climb!” At first, I gave myself pause. I thought, “Yeah, I’m kind of a jerk for leaving her hanging.” Then I thought, “No, there must be some reason I left her hanging.”

And there is. I left her hanging because, and I don’t mean to brag, but C can climb that rock on her own. She’s physically adept enough to do it. I didn’t help her because I figured she could do it on her own. She only wanted my help because she was afraid of falling (despite only being less than a foot from the ground).

So, why should I help her do something she can do on her own? Won’t that just teach her to rely on me instead of herself? And what parent wants that?

I figured letting her figure it out on her own will allow her to test her limits at her own pace and develop some self reliance. Trust me, I’m not a cold-hearted meany, and I’m a total softy for the daddy-daughter bond. I love that my baby girl wants me to hold her hand and keep her safe, so saying “no” is not easy for me. But I also want my daughter to be strong.

C encountered another rock about twenty minutes later and I’m happy to say I’m proud of her. She conquered that bad boy all on her own.

Mountain Conqueror

3 comments on “Conquering Mountains

  1. brett stubbs
    December 5, 2012

    And had you just helped her, that second rock wouldn’t have been conquered. Good dad.

    • mrmomman
      December 6, 2012

      Yes. In fact, when I went near her, she shooed me away because she thought I was going to help her that time.

  2. N. navas
    December 6, 2012

    Congratulations C!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 5, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , .
