mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Traveling?

Apparently, C enjoyed traveling so much that she wants to go again.

And on the subject, a few thoughts about traveling with a small child. It sucks. And because it sucks, kudos to whoever does it, especially if they do it often.

Actually, C was totally awesome on our journey and I wouldn’t mind traveling with her again, but as long as she has her own seat. As a child small enough to travel in my lap, no thank you. Thank goodness my flights had open seats and she didn’t have to sit on my lap for 8-10 hours. That would have sucked for her and for me. I don’t know if I’d be able to stand after doing 10 hours with a 25 pound child awkwardly positioned on my thighs.

Everyone says, “Oh, you just have to walk around the plane with them.” Oh yeah, well what if they don’t want to get up and walk around? My daughter’s always moving, her disfavor of movement when confined to an airplane is still inexplicable to me. Thank goodness C was willing to get up and go to the bathroom with me because I don’t think I could have handled a screaming toddler every time I had to go.

I thought the hardest part was going to be keeping her entertained for that long, but her seat belt and tray table took care of most of that.

Hands down the worst parts of my trip were the shorter, fuller flights that required me to keep C in my lap. No amount of air flow from that tiny nozzle above the seats can make up for all that shared body heat.

My advice for anyone who might travel with a child in their lap any time soon. Pray. And good luck, although that’s not really advice, just my well wishes.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 1, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , .
