mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

It’s A Beautiful Day In The Neighborhood

 

Actually, it wasn’t a beautiful day in the neighborhood today. It was overcast and muggy. But, that’s no reason to avoid going outside.

I used to go out for walks with my mom occasionally when I was a kid and often times I would just go by myself. It’s incredibly relaxing. It’s a great time to just let one’s mind wander and enjoy the beauty of the outdoors.

Speaking of the beauty of outdoors, is Autumn anyone else’s favorite season? It’s cool but not cold, the leaves change color, the bugs start to disappear, and I find there are less sweaty/chubby/hairy men walking around shirtless, which is just a bonus, in my opinion.

G really seems to have gotten into the changing leaves business and looks for colorful leaves to pick up on our walks, though he prefers to pluck them off the trees rather than wait for them to fall to the ground. I’ve found that collecting leaves (or any bit of nature for that matter) is a great way to get my kids interested in the outdoors and learning about things like the seasons or the living creatures outdoors. Plus, there are some crafts that leaves can be used for . . . and one day I will learn what those crafts are. For now, I’m content with the collection process.

Tada! It’s a tree.

I have a colorful leaf!

 

 

 

One comment on “It’s A Beautiful Day In The Neighborhood

  1. memyselfandkids
    October 3, 2012

    I love Fall also! Seeing the leaves change colors is awsome.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 3, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , .
