mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Magic Strawberries

I was fortunate enough to happen upon some magic strawberries in my fridge today. Skeptical? I would be too. But in the midst of two children, grumpy because they were tired and weren’t getting any dessert, and emitting a lot of ear-splitting noise from their mouths, these magic strawberries came to my rescue.

At first, the strawberries had no effect. They look pretty ordinary, although quite appetizing if I do say so myself. Despite the initial stiff-arm to the strawberries, the kids ate them. And they ate a lot of them. Probably about half a pound between the two of them.

However, the odd thing isn’t that my kids ate a delicious fruit (they love strawberries). It’s the fact that they calmed down after eating them. Like some kind of mother nature induced tranquilizer. I even got the kids to bed a little early tonight, for which I give a large amount of credit to the strawberries.

As I said, they love strawberries, so they’ve had a lot of them in the past, but never with these results. If only I had an unlimited supply of them!

2 comments on “Magic Strawberries

  1. n. navas
    September 14, 2012

    lucky you!

    • Vinny Grette
      September 15, 2012

      Interesting! I’ve read that flavinoids along with vitamin C has a calming effect on the nervous system. It seems strawberries have a lot of Fisetin, which is a naturally occurring flavinoid, and a HUGE amount of vitamin C – so that’s how it all worked. Perhaps this will make another good post for Vinny Grette!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , .
