mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

A Refusal To Grow Up

Did you ever have that toy as a kid that you were just too old for, but you couldn’t give it up? Maybe you even played with it in secret so no one would know you still liked that, “little kid toy.” You probably did. I’m sure I did, though I couldn’t tell you what it was.

Here’s G’s.

A toy he’s obviously too big for. He’s physically outgrown it, and given the sophistication of some of his other toys, he’s just all around too old for this car. We keep it around for C, but she doesn’t play with it too often.

I really want to throw it out. It’s big and therefore takes up too much space, in my opinion. I sometimes think of secretly throwing it out one day just to see if G would notice. To see if he would get really upset. And then I think, “no, that’s not for me to decide.” And it’s not. It’s not a parent’s choice to decide when we’re too old to stop playing with the things we love. It’s theirs.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2012 by in Family, Parenting.
