mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Underdog

Never underestimate the power of the little guy, especially when provoked. You know how in stories, the little guy is always pushed to the breaking point, at which he/she no longer accepts being bullied and fights back?

I’m told that when I was a child, a kid one year older than me and much bigger, who was the baby in his family and used to being picked on himself, decided to provoke me. I don’t remember what he did to provoke me, but I punched him in the face. His parents told him he deserved it for provoking me. It was a moment of true underdog triumph.

One of those moments occurred recently in our home. G, my beloved son, who’s bigger, much much faster, stronger, and physically superior in every way to his sister, C, has made a habit of bullying her. Not to be mean, that’s just how toddlers are. They’re territorial, selfish, hot tempered, and crave superiority. I’ve written a number of times about G bullying his little sister and how one day it would come back to bite him in the butt (I think that may have literally happened recently).

Now, C’s still much smaller than her big brother, but she doesn’t just take his abuse anymore.

It’s a little difficult to see because the bruise hadn’t fully set in when this picture was taken, but C took out some revenge on G’s face. Like father, like daughter. With all the cuts and bruises that appear on my kids’ faces, it’s a wonder no one’s questioned the way we treat our children.

Despite all of my cautions. Despite all the times I told G to be nice to his sister. Despite the subtle hints that anger was building up in his sister for all the stuff he’s done to her, he still hasn’t learned his lesson. I already know the black eye won’t help. Maybe he’ll need to suffer a few for the message to sink in. Don’t provoke the little guy/girl.

 

One comment on “Underdog

  1. n.navas
    August 28, 2012

    have to agree wholeheartedly-like to see the little ones stand up for themselves!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 28, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , .
