mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Teamwork

Teamwork is a beautiful and dangerous thing when it comes to my kids. It’s nice to see my kids working together nicely instead of going at each other’s throats. Take this image of them building an alphabet tower together as an example. They’re sharing, problem solving, and working together; all valuable skills in my book.

I love it when my kids do stuff like this because the last thing any parent wants is for their children to hate each other. But my kids can be quite mischievous. I fear for the future when they will team up for some diabolical purpose.

I’m not one of those parents who brags about how smart his kids are, and they’re too young to tell for sure, but they have the potential to be very cunning. They will most likely become smarter than myself, which is great. But children need to be tamed. I’ve met some very well adjusted people who I would never have guessed had a fiendish childhood. I recently learned an acquaintance of mine, respectable father of three very well-mannered children, once set a farmer’s field on fire with his brother when he was a kid. I was absolutely shocked. I mean, normally you try to hide things from your kids that you don’t want them to repeat, but arson is typically something you try to hide from anyone finding out.

My point is that teamwork, like anything else, is a skill that can be used for good or ill. I only fear that my kids will use their skills for the latter.

2 comments on “Teamwork

  1. n.navas
    July 13, 2012

    they better not read this!

  2. Jeni
    July 13, 2012

    Looong before we actually had kids, I mentioned that I hoped my kids would be curious. Their father wanted them to be kind. I think teamwork is a decent compromise. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 13, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , .
