mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Cheap Entertainment

We got hit with some intense rain last night, so despite the fact that it was a beautiful morning, we woke up to a flooded playground.

G was disappointed, but his disappointment didn’t last long because we spent the morning cleaning out my car.

I love the fact that kids can be entertained by anything, for free. Today made me think of all the free things my kids have been entertained by.

1. Old paper. They have a blast tearing or crumpling it up.

2. Dirt.

3. Weeds. G loves to pull up weeds. It’s his new favorite pastime.

4. Rocks and sticks. Hunting for, and hoarding them is something both the kids love to do.

5. Keys. What kid doesn’t love to play with keys?

6. Trash. This one sounds disgusting, but there are certain wrappers, that when they come off a package, become quite entertaining. Christmas bows and wrapping paper fall into this category.

7. Bugs. G likes to stare at spider webs or point out bugs when he sees them.

8. Pots and Pans. I think everyone born who’s ever had access to a pot and pan when they were small, probably played or wanted to play with them.

I’m sure there are other things that I can’t think of right now. And while trash, old paper, pots and pans, and even keys aren’t free, because you usually have to buy something else to acquire them, they’re really just by-products of something you would need to buy anyway. My point is, they’re not toys. And the less toys I have to clutter my living space, the better.

One comment on “Cheap Entertainment

  1. n.navas
    June 4, 2012

    tupperware!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , .
