mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Checking The Mail

Who would have thought checking the mail could be so exciting. I used to like checking the mail, but that was when I didn’t have to make a journey of getting to the mailbox.

The kids love it, even though they rarely get anything. I think it has something to do with using a key that makes it exciting for them. That and finding something in a box that someone else put there. It’s too bad that when they start getting bills in the mail, they’ll lose their love for the mailbox.

That is, if mail still even exists by the time they’re adults. Everyone seems to lament the fact that the mail system is suffering a slow death, but still won’t use it. While I can’t imagine that the postal service will ever truly go away, I’m sure it will serve in a very diminished capacity in the future. The possibility that one day we may be unable to send a letter by mail is sad to me because it not only signifies the slow death of mail, but of penmanship and effort.

It takes no effort to write an email. Writing a letter is far more laborious. It’s like the difference between buying a gift for someone or giving them a gift card or cash equivalent. Buying a gift takes more time, more thought, and is therefore more personal. Hand written letters are the same.

Plus I like the idea of people only getting an update from me three days after I’ve written it. No one’s life is fascinating enough where I can’t wait three days to hear about it. Facebook and Twitter keep us updated in realtime which is just stalkerish. I don’t need to know that my homies got ice cream three minutes ago, that’s not relevant to anything.

I’m digressing and being hypocritical because I can’t even remember the last time I wrote a letter. I think it might have been five or six years ago. The point is that I feel sad for my kids. They may never have to write a letter, and while some may find this inconsequential, it seems significant to me. Like never seeing an animal before it went extinct.

5 comments on “Checking The Mail

  1. I feel this same way when I think about eBooks. I love the feel and the smell of a new book. And I could spend hours in a bookstore just browsing. But it seems more and more likely that my kids will spend far more time reading eBooks than paper books. And while I own a Nook, and love it, there is something incredibly sad about the slow death of print media and the publishing industry as we know it. So for now, I blame my book fair and class book order spending on my sentimental side! 🙂

    • mrmomman
      May 21, 2012

      I too love holding a book in my hand. It’s a completely different experience.

  2. CJ
    June 4, 2012

    This post really hit something in me. Writing a letter is slowly dying. I think I need to add on my 50 things list is to write letters with my kids. i don’t know why I want to teach this to them, but I think they will enjoy corresponding with older relatives. Who knows… but thanks!

    • mrmomman
      June 4, 2012

      I think that’s a great idea. I want to do the same with my kids when they’re old enough to know how to write, but I’m afraid that by then, writing a letter might seem lame to them.

      • CJ
        June 4, 2012

        That’s funny, because I think writing a letter may seem lame now. I going to use it as a handwriting exercise. We’ll see how it works.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2012 by in Family, Parenting, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
