mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Quality Outdoor Time

The nice weather and a few recent trips to the local botanical gardens has recently gotten me into having picnics every chance I get. I think I’ve shied away from picnics because the weather here in the summer sucks. It’s WAY too hot to spend time outdoors unless you’re at the beach or a pool or doing something involving water.

However, when the weather is a nice seventy something and breezy, I think a picnic is the best way to spend some of your day.

My wife and I were discussing why picnics are so fun and after a somewhat lengthy discussion, I’ve learned something new about my wife after seven years together; she really loves picnics. I had no idea because I think we’ve gone on a picnic maybe three times, ever. Just as surprising was her beautiful explanation of why she loves picnics so much (at least I thought it was beautiful):

“Picnics turn an ordinary day into something exciting, an eventful day. Sitting under the shade of a tree, with a light breeze kissing your face and the sun shining down through the leaves. You get to sit outside and just enjoy nature.”

That’s not exactly how she described it, I think she said it better, but that’s the gist of what she said. If I’d known how much she loves picnics I wouldn’t have been surprised when she got a little upset that C and I went out for a picnic today for some daddy daughter time.

I’d like to interrupt this post and put in a plug for the picnic blanket that C is sitting on in these pictures. I don’t know what brand it is because I didn’t see a label on it, but I’m pretty sure it’s from Target. That’s where my wife gets most stuff from. I’d ask her, but she is in fact there right now as I’m writing this post and she is not answering her phone.

It’s super soft, machine washable, and folds up and zips into a nifty carrying size. It even has a handle. If you need or want one, and have a Target near you, get one. Seriously, I could fall asleep on that thing it’s so cushiony soft. But, I could fall asleep in a lot of places.

Anyway, back to picnics.

The great thing about picnics is that you can do them any time of day, weather permitting of course. You could do breakfast, lunch, dinner, even afternoon tea if you’re into that kind of thing. The point is, picnics are awesome. Enough said.

 

6 comments on “Quality Outdoor Time

  1. elevitt18
    April 25, 2012

    Picnics are a wonderful thing. I’m looking forward to the day when my boys are old enough to take them out for some al fresco dining. And I will look for that picnic blanket!

    • mrmomman
      April 25, 2012

      I know the day when your kids can feed themselves without making a huge mess is awesome!

  2. Sharon
    April 25, 2012

    Nothing better then enjoying a wonderful day in the great outdoors with your children! And I’ll have to check my Target for that blanket…

    • mrmomman
      April 25, 2012

      Yeah, I think it’s the best way to spend time with them. I checked with my wife and that blanket is definitely from Target.

  3. mamacravings
    April 26, 2012

    Oooh!! I love a good picnic! That blanket looks amazing! I will have to hunt it down at Target!

  4. mrmomman
    April 26, 2012

    Just a note on the blanket, it’s $19.99 from Target and comes in other amazing patterns. (My wife wrote this)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
