mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

I Know I’m Paranoid

I may never go to another large public park again. At least not during vacation, a weekend, or after school hours. Too many children at a park can turn into a scene from Lord of the Flies. Children pushing each other off elevated surfaces, smashing each other against safety bars, stick fights, and the constant threat of being trampled.

So I couldn’t blame G for wanting to get away from the playground madness and climb a hill instead.

It looks so peaceful from a distance, but up close it was a mad house.

The truth is I’m not sure I’ve ever been to a park as big as the one we went to today and I haven’t been on a crowded playground since I was eleven so I forgot what it was like. Maybe I’m just being paranoid, but large, crowded playgrounds, scare me as a parent because they’re the perfect place for perverts and sociopaths to kidnap kids without anyone noticing. I could just look down for a second, and all of a sudden my child is gone.

It’s definitely going to be a long time before I take my kids back, which is too bad because they really did have fun there.

Toddlers can get away from you pretty easily when they want to and they’re especially hard to catch in a crowd. I know I’m paranoid, but I’d rather be paranoid and keep my children safe than the sad parent on the evening news begging for information from strangers. I want to trust people, but I’ve just seen too many episodes of Criminal Minds.

5 comments on “I Know I’m Paranoid

  1. n. navas
    April 10, 2012

    extra eyes are helpful

  2. Kendria
    April 10, 2012

    Buddy system, perhaps? Maybe like teaching them to yell a “safety word” and letting them know it’s ok to become dramatic if they feel they are in danger. 🙂 I understand how you feel. That’s a parent’s worst nightmare.

  3. mamacravings
    April 10, 2012

    Toddlers have no fears and very little reserve about wandering off to anything that catches their eyes.
    I am so cautious with my kid at parks. I am very wary of weirdos that may be lurking. I know they can be anywhere. Perhaps I have watched too much SVU with park scenes.
    This last week, one of my best friends had a huge playset built in her back yard. It is park quality. I highly recommend have best friends do this. It is quite useful to all of those involved. 😉

    • mrmomman
      April 11, 2012

      Yeah, I prefer to stay close to home. I’ve always wanted one of those backyard playgrounds. I’ve seen a few that are pretty awesome and I’m sure my kids could spend all day on one. If only I had a back yard.

  4. CJ
    May 9, 2012

    I can’t agree with you more. I wish I could tell you the paranoia goes away with age, but as they get older it seems to just grow. Allowing them to play outside, without me close by was a big one! My husband had to talk me off the edge…at times he still does. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , .
