mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Whatever Happened To The Easter Egg Hunt?

I was never really big into Easter when I was a kid. In my opinion, the candy is far less desirable than Halloween, the pastel colors never suited me, I don’t like eggs unless they’re scrambled so painting them was no big deal, and unlike my wife when she was a kid, I never got presents or money when Easter came around. In fact, the only fun thing about Easter were the egg hunts.

Even though I was terrible at finding eggs because I was always the kid that had the fewest, I still remember that it was fun. Sitting in bushes, half buried in dirt, shoved into small crevices, these are the types of places I remember Easter eggs being hidden.

Today we took our kids to a local Easter egg hunt sponsored by the place where they get their hair cut. I was interested to see how it would be because I haven’t hunted for Easter eggs in a really long time and thought it might be fun to help them find eggs. Instead, we find an open field littered with eggs and other prizes in plain sight.

I’m not really complaining about the one we went to because it was free, and our kids are both under three, so a real egg hunt would take forever. I felt bad for the older kids who also just had to pick up eggs off the ground. There were so many kids there it was literally over in about fifteen seconds. It was the most anticlimactic egg hunt I’ve ever experienced.

When I was out running some errands this morning I also witnessed other egg hunts going on around the city that really just had kids running around picking them up off the ground. Were egg hunts always this boring?

Maybe it doesn’t matter. My kids seemed to have fun, even if they didn’t really understand what they were doing. There’s just a small part of me that feels bad for my kids because I remember egg hunts being a lot more fun.

I went to this Easter egg hunt and all I got were these lousy eggs.

4 comments on “Whatever Happened To The Easter Egg Hunt?

  1. Pingback: Grace Baptist Church Easter Egg Hunt | Geek Alabama

  2. Pingback: Jaydon’s first Easter « The Adventures of Jaydon and Daddy

  3. Kendria
    April 10, 2012

    We “run em hard” at our egg hunts that’s why. We “no mess around”, li’ dat. šŸ˜‰

    • mrmomman
      April 11, 2012

      Wow, busting out the pidgin. I like it. I think you’re the first to do that on my blog.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2012 by in Family, Parenting, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , .
