mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

My Musically Doomed Children

Ok, so my title is a little hyperbolic. I can’t predict that my children are doomed to be terrible at all things musical just because I am. Musical talent has to start somewhere, and talent is usually developed through a love for the thing you want to do.

Like most children, my kids love music, which is why we got G a small piano over a year ago. He’s two, so he mostly just pounds on the keys. Really hard. But about six months ago, he started to sing while he played.

His memory amazes me because he remembers songs he hasn’t heard in a really long time. Jingle Bells and the theme song to Bob the Builder are two that I can think of. He also loves The Itsy Bitsy Spider.

I don’t know how many other two-year olds try to sing, but if you know or own a two-year old who can actually sing, I’m impressed. G kind of sings, but it comes out more like yelling. This, along with my wife’s and my own complete and utter lack of musical ability, don’t bode well for my kids’ musical futures.

If C develops a nice voice, she’s already got her piano straddle down. Maybe she can work in a jazz nightclub. Do those even still exist? I hope so.

Anyway, that’s my little rant for the day.

2 comments on “My Musically Doomed Children

  1. Irene Stetson
    April 2, 2012

    Could be their musical talent will come from their great grandmother????

  2. Kendria
    April 10, 2012

    Music is a way of life regardless if youre inclined to it or not. The best thing to do is encourage it! Just don’t ever sell them false dreams, like the people who make themselves look like fools while auditioning for American Idol. LOL. I mean really though, their parents NEVER told them that they stink?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2012 by in Family.
