mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

My Son Is Kind Of A Better Son Than I Was

I don’t remember much from my toddler years. I remember only one thing clearly when I was three. I was outside helping my dad wash the car. I feel as if I can remember the excitement in his face at his little boy wanting to help with a task. I think it had something to do with the bond that’s created when father and son do manly things together; like building something. Unfortunately, I don’t think I ever built anything with my dad, so washing the car was the next best thing.

I remember he was showing me how to spray the water on the car and specifically said to aim the hose at the car. Well, of course I shot the water at him and I thought it was hilarious seeing him drenched, with a look of utter shock on his face; but my dad didn’t see the humor in it. He scolded me and I was sent in the house.

I thought back to last year when G helped me wash our car for the first time and how excited he was that he was helping me. Since I remember my first car washing experience so vividly, I immediately thought to keep the water hose away from him. I wasn’t going to risk karma biting me in the butt.

I don’t remember if I had even wanted to help my dad wash the car, but he’s always jumped at the chance to teach me something if I showed an interest in it, so I must have. Trouble is, I never showed much interest in helping with anything as I grew up and I’m sure that’s always been a big disappointment to my dad.

G, on the other hand, seems to be the exact opposite of me. It could just be because he’s almost three and curious about everything, but he’s always asking me to show him how to do stuff.

Today we were playing in the garage and G started rummaging through the tools. Every time he picks up a tool, he asks what it’s for, and then asks if there’s something he can use the tool on. His favorite tool is a screwdriver, but he hasn’t mastered the concept that you don’t use them on just a plain wall that has no need for a screw.

Anyway, G found the measuring tape and wanted to know what to do with it. I’m pretty inept when it comes to tools, but I’m competent with a measuring tape, so I showed him how to measure stuff. After we practiced measuring just about everything in sight, G decided he was ready to measure something on his own and measured the door to his playhouse.

I congratulated him on his measuring prowess and realized that my son is a better son than I was because he wants to pick my brain every chance he gets. He does it to every adult, really.

It would be totally rad if we lived near my dad because he has a million things to fix around his house and G would be all too happy to assist him, and my dad would be thrilled to have such a thirsty mind near him. I, on the other hand, would be pretty useless.

I hope G maintains his interest in doing things with me. If he does, he’ll be a much better son than I was.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 21, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , .
