mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Growing Up

For me, the most exciting part of being a dad is playing with my kids. That may seem obvious, what parent wouldn’t feel like playing with your children is better than any other part of parenting? But playing with your children is so much more fun when they’re bigger. The bigger they get, the more interactive they get, and that means better toys.

Last year I had to be cut off from the Hot Wheels. (I know I look like a hobo).

Last year G got a set of Hot Wheels from his Papa and a great deal of track to go with it. I was excited because I’d never had the track when I was a kid, just the cars, and I’d always wanted to build some. As you can see, I had more fun and interest in it than G did. His only interest was in destroying the track I’d built and I was so involved with it that I eventually had to be cut off. Ever since then, the track and most of the cars have been stored away.

But today was the day to try again. After a year of waiting, I knew G was ready to handle Hot Wheels. I can’t imagine it being a bigger hit with him and not once did he try to dismantle the track.

I'm pretty impressed with myself for building this. I still think I had more fun than him.

G’s increasing ability to play with toys that were once so beyond him is a sure sign that he’s growing up. I have mixed feelings about this because I’m still looking forward to the age when he’s physically capable of throwing a football with me, but that’ll mean that I will be a bit older too.

It’s still fun to watch kids grow up and start playing with toys that get better and better. Soon the days will be over when I have to watch my kids drag toys around and merely hold and shake objects. Soon I will actually get to be involved. That’s the best part of parenting.

4 comments on “Growing Up

  1. Valerie
    March 10, 2012

    Oh, yes-it DOES get so great as they get older! I’m having a blast with my 11 yr old & 8 year old. It surprises me all the time how much funNER they’re getting! I also have a 6 month old, so we happily get to do it all again. Too funny…your picture comparison! =)

    • mrmomman
      March 10, 2012

      I knew it! I knew it gets better with age, just like so many other things. Thanks for the comment!

  2. DLoweinc
    March 10, 2012

    I’m looking forward to this too and have noticed this with my son even though he is just 7 months old… Wonderful post 🙂

    • mrmomman
      March 10, 2012

      Yeah, it’s amazing how rapidly children develop. The difference between 7 and 9 months alone can be pretty big. Before we know it, our kids will be all grown up.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 10, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
