mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Invisibility Cloaks And Using Imagination

What is it about childhood that spurs the desire to hide? I used to love hiding when I was a kid. Under my bed, in the closet, under a blanket, or my favorite and most disgusting hiding place, the laundry hamper. I could always win at hide-and-seek if there were enough dirty clothes in the hamper to cover myself with. Granted, it’s a lot easier when you’re a child because lets face it, it’s easier to fit into a hamper when you’re six than when you’re twenty-six.

The most impressive kind of hiding to me, though, is the invisibility cloak hiding. You know what I’m talking about; the blatant kind of hiding that only the imagination of a child allows for. One second they’re standing right in front of you, and then the next, they’re covered head to toe under a blanket or towel and they become invisible.

Invisibility cloaks come in all kinds of colors these days, not just transparent.

Oh no, half a face!

How great is it to have an imagination where you cover yourself with something, and believe that no one can see you as long as you stay fully covered. I wish my imagination were still that far fetched. I mean, I could imagine myself under an invisibility cloak, but a child’s imagination is at work twenty-four seven.

Until well into his sixties and his knees no longer allowed it, my dad would hide behind the couch in the living room when my mom would come home and she would just shake her head and chuckle at his silliness. Once we get to a certain age, this kind of behavior is deemed silly or not befitting of more mature individuals, but I think wild imaginations should be encouraged at all ages. If it weren’t for wild imaginations, we might not have some of the greatest literature ever written, or innovative technology, or art or anything else that requires creativity.

Oops. I'm on the wrong side of the invisibility cloak. I can still see her.

So let’s all let our imaginations run wild for as long as they can. Once we lose our imagination, it’s kind of difficult to get it back.

One comment on “Invisibility Cloaks And Using Imagination

  1. nancy navas
    February 20, 2012

    how well the hamper is remembered!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2012 by in Family, Parenting, Photography and tagged , , , , , , .
