mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

My Kids Are Not Cuter Than Your Kids, And Your Kids Are Not Cuter Than Mine

I'm going a little retro today with this picture because it was taken four or five months ago. I just couldn't get a suitable one from today. So sue me.

Is anyone else uncomfortable with the idea that we have to get excited about other people’s children when we see them? Like if your friend has a new baby, you’re socially obligated to comment on how adorable their baby is. I’m very uncomfortable with this, and if you disagree with me, you should probably stop reading now.

Not all children are cute. I’m sorry, but it’s a fact of life. Hey, not all adults can be good looking. Ugly people have to come from somewhere. We all have our personal tastes in what’s attractive, and I don’t see how that doesn’t apply to baby cuteness. I’ve seen some babies that are quite unpleasant looking, but I’m sure other people genuinely thought those ugly babies were cute.

I’m not a tactless and insensitive human being. I don’t go around telling my friends or acquaintances that their babies aren’t cute. I just try to avoid saying anything. I’m putting myself in a bad spot right now because I have a few friends who read this blog and are expecting. Don’t worry, I’m sure your babies will be cute, but now that you know my ugly baby tell, I will have to lie to your face.

I don’t like being put in the position to lie to people’s faces about how cute their baby is because I do feel bad about it. But what am I supposed to do when the mother says out loud, “He/she is so cute! Isn’t he/she?” That’s when I hope that my wife, or someone else is in the room to agree with them so all I have to do is go, “mmm hmm.”

I never expected anyone to tell me my kids were cute. I still don’t expect it, except from family. You people are obligated. I think my kids are adorable, and I would be shocked if anyone disagreed with me. But I wouldn’t be offended. I’ll just think that person is crazy. Really, my kids can’t be cute to everyone so it’s unreasonable for me to expect that from other people.

If I do see a cute baby, I let mommy and daddy know right away, but I don’t like being forced into it. And you shouldn’t feel forced into telling people their children are cute, or adorable, or any other positive comment about their child’s physical appearance.

 

13 comments on “My Kids Are Not Cuter Than Your Kids, And Your Kids Are Not Cuter Than Mine

  1. debut dad
    February 10, 2012

    In this photo, I think the looks on both of your children’s faces are super cute! 🙂

  2. Rochelle
    February 10, 2012

    I agree that some babies are more aesthetically pleasing than others (who is or who isn’t is all subjective). However, I have found that acknowledging the cuteness of the baby is sometimes synonymous to acknowledging the efforts of the parent. Odd but I’ve seen the smiles of grateful satisfaction. In these cases, I tend to generalise that all babies are round, chubby and their heads are a third of their whole body length. Now, that’s pretty cute! Okay, okay, it’s a loophole but not a lie.

    • mrmomman
      March 2, 2012

      Yes, I agree that subjectivity plays a big part in how cute a baby is. I agree there is an overall underlying cute quality that all babies possess, but I still think some children are harder on the eyes than others. Again, that’s not to say they won’t be good looking adults.

  3. n. navas
    February 11, 2012

    they are adorable!

  4. CJ
    February 11, 2012

    HAHA!! Sooo true. I was never a kid friendly person. When my twins were born I fell in absolute love, as many moms do. I saw 2 beautiful babies. But having lived in the world for 28 years I was well aware that not every baby is cute and I may just have mom goggles on (similar to beer goggles). I called my best friend and begged for her honest opinion, “Were my kids cute??” She did what any best friend would, reassured me that mine were the most adorable kids ever. I don’t expect anyone else to tell me that. 🙂

    • mrmomman
      February 18, 2012

      Yeah, emotional attachment does have a similar effect to alcohol. Only mom goggles never wear off!

  5. wifenavas
    February 12, 2012

    My kids are the cutest kids ever! So, I guess that means your kids are as well =)

  6. Hillary
    February 13, 2012

    Ryan and I have come up with other positive comments to make when faced with unatractive babies…I agree that there are outright scary looking kids out there

    • mrmomman
      February 18, 2012

      Yeah, if you have to come up with something, then it’s good to find something positive, but if you don’t have anything nice to say, it’s best not to say anything at all.

  7. Confused
    March 2, 2012

    It’s all true but maybe you shouldn’t feel bad about ‘lying’ to your friends. It’s kinda their time in the spotlight and they are thrilled over their new baby.. But I admire that you don’t say anything at all, you know instead of saying out loud that the baby is ugly! 🙂

    Cute children btw!

    • mrmomman
      March 2, 2012

      Oh yeah, congratulations and well-wishes are a must! Thanks for the comments!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2012 by in Family, Parenting, Photography and tagged , , , , , .
