mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Picnic Time

It’s amazing how children can be better behaved when pretending to do something, rather than when they’re doing the actual activity. While we haven’t been on very many picnics, I don’t have to worry about them throwing fake food, or trying to dump out fake juice onto the ground, when my children share a pretend picnic.

Ok, that’s a lie because they do throw the fake food, but I never have to fight with my kids about getting them to eat fake food. They’re more than willing to eat and drink anything fake that is put in front of them.

They are undoubtedly better behaved when playing with fake food, though. Pretend eating, pretend cooking, pretend food fights; they have always been peaceful activities between my kids. I’ve never had to worry about sibling attacks while they share a pretend meal. I still haven’t figured out why.

My kids love to eat more than anything else, I think, so they will fight over real food. If one of them has something the other doesn’t, bitterness and sometimes violence, ensues. I thought food was supposed to bring people together, not drive them to feuding.

Perhaps one day food will bring peace to the dinner table, or picnic blanket. For now, I have to settle for pretend peace.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2012 by in Family, Parenting, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , .
