mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Proud Daddy

My boy the ladies man.

I'm proud of how she rocks those butterfly shades.

I’m always proud of my kids. Watching them grow up is cool because the older they get, the more interactive they become. Raising children is a never-ending, back and forth, emotional tug of war between pride and joy, and disappointment.

I’m proud of my kids when they master a new skill, or when they do nice things. I’m proud of the smallest and most ordinary things they can do. There are times, however, when something happens that causes pride to just come bursting out of you for your children. This past week, I couldn’t help but feel this sense of pride in G. Why? Because he’s just so lovable.

Ok, I have to let all you readers in on that joke. I’m not trying to toot my own horn, and I say this without the slightest bit of ego, but when I was a small child, I was quite the ladies man. I’m talking about most of elementary school. It went downhill for me after that. Anyway, being the cute kid that I was, a lot of girls in my classes liked to play and hang out with me. One of these girls once walked up to either my older brother or my mom, I don’t remember which, and proudly told him/her that I was, “just so lovable.”

I felt pride because a similar thing happened to G this week at school. No, unfortunately no small girl came up to me and told me that he was lovable. That would have been incredible. But, when I dropped him off at school this past Wednesday, a girl walked directly toward him, gave him a hug, and wrapped her arm around his. She then proceeded to walk around the room as if to show off my son to all the other children. Then today when I picked G up from school, this same girl tried to leave with him. Ahhh. The memory of it just brings a swell of pride to me.

My wife, of course, was very disturbed by this news. She demanded to know who this girl was that dare give her affections to our baby. Most fathers would probably feel the same as my wife if the situation were reversed, and a boy was doing this to my little girl. But to be honest, we visited G’s class on Thanksgiving and a little boy followed C around like a hawk. I thought that was cute, and was impressed how well she plays hard-to-get. She doesn’t give away her affection as freely as G does.

I was equally impressed today when G was driving his truck through our neighborhood and this cute blond at the playground politely asked him if he would give her a ride. She was probably a year older than him, but she seemed sweet on him because she put her arm around him while he drove her to a tree. I’m so furious with myself that I wasn’t able to get that on video.

It seems superficial, I know. But I just can’t help but feel immensely proud at the events of the last few days.

3 comments on “Proud Daddy

  1. kendria
    February 4, 2012

    Runs in the family, cuz.

  2. n. navas
    February 5, 2012

    you were a “stud muffin”!

  3. Pingback: Life, Liberty, And The Pursuit Of Girls « mrmomman

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2012 by in Family, Parenting, Photography and tagged , , , , , , .
