mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Why Mothers Are The Best

Eskimo mothers

Image via Wikipedia

Today I was having a really rough day. A day that involved dealing with a lot of crying, whining, complaining, outright defiance, and a little bit of me getting slapped by my son. Usually on days like today, my only solace is nap time, but today happened to be a bad nap day too, as it only lasted about half as long as it normally does.

I’ve had days like this before, but being a full time dad the last four months has started to take its toll. I now understand why men fought so hard for so many years to keep women out of the workplace and to stay home taking care of the children; because men aren’t cut out for this. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a misogynist who thinks a woman’s role is to stay barefoot and pregnant, but they’d be better at it than a man would.

We just don’t have the motherly qualities that are so important to be able to cope with the stresses that go along with raising children. Qualities like, intense patience, unparalleled empathy and kindness, and seemingly infinite physical endurance when it comes to dealing with children.

It’s not that men are incapable of patience, empathy and physical stamina, because we are. There just seems to be an exceedingly greater supply of these characteristics in mothers than there are in fathers. Here’s an example: a baby cries for a while, showing no signs of stopping, and his father may think, “what’s his problem?” while his mother will probably think, “what’s hurting my baby?”

My wife is pretty rad, so while she realized that I had a rough day, she also realized that it must have been rough on the kids too. I mean, while I had to deal with the crying, the kids had their reasons for crying in the first place; and wouldn’t you be burnt out from spending most of your day crying?

The irony of all this is that most men are babies. When we get sick, we want to be pampered and coddled, even if it is just a cough or mild headache. My wife could have the stomach flu and will still manage to find a way to take care of the kids. In fact, one time she did because we both had it and she was the better person.

So today, in my man-babyish state, I wanted to be pampered and coddled for the rough day I had. However, wisely, my wife chose to focus her attention on the children because that’s what mothers do best. After preparing dinner and recognizing a need for some special attention, she set up blankets and pillows outside on our deck for the kids to have dinner on.

Here, my dear, let me help you cut that.

The kids certainly seemed to enjoy it more than the usual dining room dinner and they calmed down a great deal because of it, although, she still put them to bed early. Then she told me to go to bed early because I had a bad attitude.

That is why mothers are the best; they know exactly what everyone needs.

9 comments on “Why Mothers Are The Best

  1. nancy navas
    January 24, 2012

    dad really liked this one – a good lesson for us all!

  2. Maya Fitz
    January 24, 2012

    What a well written post! Mothers everywhere are loving on you right now šŸ™‚

    • mrmomman
      January 25, 2012

      Thanks. I have to give respect when and where it’s due.

  3. brett stubbs
    January 25, 2012

    That sounds rough man. Sometimes I have to fill in for a few hours. I am really good at playing, and having fun. And when they start crying, i’m all good and nice about it. For the first 30 minutes…and then I turn into my inner dad. Which is, making fun of them for crying, LOTS of sarcasm about their situation, random disciplining (lots of threats…I will throw away your doll house), and I can’t wait for my wife to get home to deal with these creatures, which are obviously not related to me. We have hormones, skillsets, and abilities that for thousands of years, have not been tuned to childcare.

  4. modestchicks
    January 25, 2012

    I enjoyed reading this! lol

  5. Delila
    January 25, 2012

    Great blog post! I think that much of the “mom” gene is the innate ability to handle many things at once. From as early as the toddler stage, it is noted that males focus on one thing at a time with great detail to the facts and females focus on many things at once. BUT even for a mom, those days are horrendous! I hate when nap time is cut short! I respect you for being a full-time dad. My husband did that for a while but we realized that for now its easier for him to work more and for me to do most of the childcare. Doesn’t mean that men can’t handle it, just means that most times women handle that type of stress better!

    • mrmomman
      January 25, 2012

      Exactly! All dad’s should try it for a while just to be more empathetic with the ladies.

  6. Pingback: Sleeping Super Powers And A Saintly Wife « mrmomman

  7. welcometothemotherhood
    January 25, 2012

    You will definitely win over the moms with this post! I love to hear an honest dad’s perspective. Parenting is tough but most dads don’t know it because they never experience it full time the way you are now. Enjoy (I am sure your kids are!)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , .
