mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Holding Hands

So for those of you who aren’t as into poetry as I am, the following poem is called a Ghazal. I could explain what type of poem that is, but you can just look it up on if need be. As for why I chose to write a Ghazal, I took a poetry class where I had to teach the form to my classmates and I’ve grown rather fond of the form ever since.

Anyway, today I took my kids to the aquarium and for the first time ever they held hands to stay with each other! If you don’t have children you won’t appreciate how exciting that is. I was excited so I wrote a poem to commemorate the occasion.

Come, little sister, stay close and hold my hand.

We have to stay together, will you hold my hand?

 

We’ve never done this before so our hands slip,

We don’t want to separate, hold my hand.

 

I’m your big brother, it’s my job to keep you

Protected and safe, just please hold my hand.

 

Swift and quick we must be to avoid getting lost;

We’ll stay close as long as you hold my hand.

 

Follow me, sweetie, and I’ll help you keep up.

Daddy’s saying to us, “children, hold my hand.”

5 comments on “Holding Hands

  1. meiro
    January 20, 2012

    Lovely imagery.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Best wishes

  2. Pingback: A poem by A.S.J. Tessimond « allaboutwordswa

  3. Joanne
    January 20, 2012

    Gee whiz–why do you have to make me cry?

  4. Pingback: Is holding hands in public gay? « sebaspace

Leave a Reply

