mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Play Time Part II

Trucks! Trucks!

Yeah, I wasn’t joking about the trucks in my last post.

The good thing about having so many trucks is that it’s kind of teaching my son to share. There are too many for him to play with at once, so he usually shares the crappiest truck with her and keeps the coolest and best ones for himself. It’s still kind of a jerk thing to do, but I think it’s a step in the right direction.

There was a time when he wouldn’t even let her pick up trucks of his that he’d torn the wheels off of. Why anyone would want to play with a truck that has no wheels is beyond my comprehension, but my kids mostly just like to hold them and walk around with them, so I guess wheels wouldn’t really be necessary for that. Nevertheless, you have to think that even a baby would realize that a truck is more fun when it has wheels.

Now he’ll only take a truck away if he spots her sitting in a corner holding it and if she’s smiling. My wife has cleverly combated this by telling him that the trucks with the missing wheels or the broken windows are the most special ones so that our daughter will have a shot at the good toys. Women are so smart.

Notice the missing door on the Twinkie bus she’s holding. As I said, he’ll let her have the most dilapidated one while he plays with the good ones. She’s guarding it as if I’m about to take it from her because that’s what she’s used to have happening to her.

She rarely tries to take his toys into corners anymore. She’s too easy to spot that way. Instead, she’s taking a play right out of her brother’s playbook; going into another room and closing the door so she won’t be disturbed. I’m so proud of my little problem solver.

Shhh. I'm hiding.

He still treats her with a great deal of aggression so we’ve got a long way to go before he shares good toys. I’ve been trying to warn my son that one day she’s going to be big enough to fight back, but alas, children, they never listen. I just hope that the day she knocks him down and takes a toy out of his hands, I don’t fall over laughing.

3 comments on “Play Time Part II

  1. kelly
    January 19, 2012

    oh gosh WHY IS SHE SO CUTE?!?! I WANT TO HUG HER!
    I’m so excited to see you have a blog!!! ❤

  2. nancy navas
    January 19, 2012

    she is really clever!

  3. Julie Burns
    January 22, 2012

    I cannot and will probably never get over the ridiculously insane cuteness of your children. And I have to say, that I LOVE your blog! Love it! I can’t get over that either.

Leave a Reply

