mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Star Wars!

It may seem odd that I present today, a picture of three lumps under a vintage Star Wars sheet, but I will find any excuse to talk about Star Wars. It’s amazing that I’ve made it this far into the year without mentioning it until now.

It’s pathetic, I know, but when my wife stole my brother’s old sheet from my parent’s house the day we moved away, I just knew that one day I would need a picture of it before it died of use. And although it’s gotten much more use the last four years than it did the fifteen years before that, I’m happy to say that the sheet is still going strong.

Why am I talking about Star Wars you may be asking yourself as you read this? Because it’s awesome! And like I said, I will find any excuse to talk about it. In all seriousness though, I bring up Star Wars because my son is nearing the critical age where he’s developing a long enough attention span to sit through a feature length film. Therefore, he’s nearing the age where he’ll be physically able to sit through Star Wars.

Not only is he developing a greater attention span for the visual arts, but he’s also way excited about Star Wars. If he sees anything remotely similar looking to a lightsaber, he picks it up and waves it around yelling, “Yoda, Yoda!” or, “Darth Vader, Darth Vader!” Honestly, I’ve never been more proud of my son in his entire life. And until he goes to the potty by himself on a regular basis, nothing will trump it.

My wife and I have been arguing about the proper time to let him watch Star Wars. She’s worried there will be things he might be scared of. I’m more concerned about whether or not he’ll sit through  enough of the film between the action sequences. Priorities, right?

In all seriousness, this is a serious question for someone like me. How do I know when my son is ready to watch Star Wars? I mean, he’s never seen more than the pod race from Episode I, and he loved that. My kids love to play with my working R2D2 and my son has been a Star Wars Character for Halloween twice (he chose to be a Knight this past Halloween and it took a while to come to terms with that).

Cute, I am.

He's performing a double choke grip there.

He goes around saying he loves Star Wars and that his favorite character is Yoda, when he’s never seen anything more than the Christmas bobble head of Yoda dressed up as Santa Claus. He’s taught himself to recognize those iconic words on anything so that when he sees the bold lettering of, STAR WARS, he picks it up and says, “It’s Star Wars daddy!” Isn’t that enough to know that it’s time?

Someone once suggested I show him the cartoon, but I like to pretend that awfully bad show doesn’t exist. Besides, how can I show him anything other than A New Hope first?

Then I have to consider whether or not I should wait for both he and his sister to be old enough to watch and enjoy them together. Or do I let him watch it first and have him help me build the excitement within her? These are serious questions people!

Ultimately, I’ve decided to be patient and just wait for the right moment (I was going to quote some Yoda wisdom at you, but then I decided that’s way beyond my nerd classification). I can’t force it (no pun intended). Because really, if I do, and my children don’t love Star Wars for the awesomeness that it is, I will be heartbroken.

4 comments on “Star Wars!

  1. Static Instants
    January 13, 2012

    The proper time is anytime for star wars my friend!

    • mrmomman
      January 14, 2012

      For me, it definitely is. I’m gonna go watch it right now!

  2. Pingback: Daddy’s Picture Of The Week « mrmomman

  3. Pingback: The Day For Watching Star Wars Has Come « mrmomman

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2012 by in Family, Parenting, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
