mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Cheap Manual Labor

 

 

 

 

The great thing about having children is the cheap manual labor that comes with it. You pay for food and clothing and all the other expenses that come with children, which you have to do anyway, and you get human beings who can do chores you don’t want to do for free! Not only that, but when they’re this small, they actually want to do it!

We put our Christmas tree on our patio before we threw it out and it left a lot of pine needles out there. I’ve been putting off cleaning because it’s been way too cold to go outside, but today it was nice. All it took for these children to do what they’re doing was the mere mention of a broom and they jumped at the chance to help. Little girl with the broom actually got upset when we tried to take it away from her.

It’s not just cleaning. They’ll help with anything. My son gets excited at the sight of a screwdriver because he knows I’ll need help screwing something in. He sometimes refuses to eat unless he helps me make breakfast. I roll out the vacuum and it’s like I just threw a giant ball of catnip in front of two cats. They fight for it.

Seriously, how awesome is it that kids want to help out around the house? If your children are eager enough to want to help with household tasks, take advantage of it. Because by the time you actually want them to, they’ll be disinterested.

I have to say they did a pretty good job for toddlers. If you start them early, they get better at it.

 

4 comments on “Cheap Manual Labor

  1. Peaches and Pumpkins
    January 6, 2012

    This is so funny..I have a 19 month old daughter..and unfortunately she has picked up on my obsessive cleaning habits. I have a picture identical to this of her:) thanks for sharing!

    • mrmomman
      January 6, 2012

      There’s nothing unfortunate about picking that habit up. Thanks for reading!

  2. Writing Jobs
    January 6, 2012

    Great post. I enjoyed reading your blog today.

    If you love to write we would love for you to join us!

    Writer Jobs

    • mrmomman
      January 7, 2012

      Thank you. I checked out your site, but not sure how to join you. Let me know.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2012 by in Family, Parenting, Photography and tagged , , , , , , .
