mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Happy Father’s Day To Me . . . And To You Too, Dad

I forgot it was Father’s Day today, so I feel a little like a bad son. I’m also sick. In fact, my whole family is sick or recovering from sickness. Not the best day to have Father’s Day fall on but I am alive and we could all be plagued by something far worse than a cold.

I spent the better part of the day listening to a lot of whining, crying and screaming. Nothing makes my Father’s Day like watching my kids run to their mom when I open my arms for a hug. On the plus side, I did get these.

G’s Father’s Day card to me.

C’s Father’s Day card to me.

I will probably end up keeping these cards forever. Or until the paper disintegrates. I’m a very sentimental person and I think I get that from my dad. I recall recently seeing a card or some kind of craft I made for him twenty years ago that is still in his possession. But then again, he has shirts that are as old as I am so he might just keep things for a minimum of thirty years.

Fathers are stereotyped for a lot of things, and I think a fair one is handing out advice. Dads are always handing out advice to their kids, whether asked for or not. I’ve been reading all these stories that people are writing about specific memories they have of their fathers or life’s great lessons they’ve learned and I was trying to do the same. I was wracking my brain, trying to remember all the good advice my dad’s given me over the years and aside from the generic, “always try your best,” that every father should tell their children, I’ve come up blank. Sorry dad, though that’s not to say you haven’t given me valuable lessons and continue to do so.

I just don’t know why can’t I remember some significant memory of me and my father when I was a kid. The strongest memories I have are of me getting in trouble and incurring my father’s wrath, and I’m not sharing any of those stories.

I do remember not being that fond of my dad when I was a kid, which is crazy because he’s a very sweet man, and that brought up something that my father used to say to me regarding his advice that I will never forget. He used to say, “I’m not going to be around forever. I hope you’ll remember my advice when I’m gone.” And he would always say it when I would give him an air of know-it-all, punk-kid defiance.

I’d like to think that I’m drawing the blank on my father’s good advice because he’s still alive, for which I am supremely grateful, and I know I can call him up any time I want to just ask him. Father’s Day isn’t about memories of good advice or gifts. It’s a day to celebrate dads. Mom’s get all the glory, as they should, but it’s important to appreciate the fact that we dads do a pretty important job. And today I want my dad to know that he’s always been and always will be one of the most important people in my life; as all fathers should be.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

