mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Someone Please Teach Me What To Do With My Little Girl’s Hair

I have no idea what to do with my daughter’s hair. It’s out of control. She’s had a full head of hair from the day she was born and has only had one bangs trim her entire life. Apparently, women are weird about cutting a girl’s hair when she’s small because my sister didn’t get a hair cut until she was four and my wife protests cutting C’s hair as well.

So I’m stuck looking after a girl with long, wild hair that I can’t tame. If there are other dads out there who’ve mastered the art of girl hair, please let me know how to master it as well.

Hair clips don’t work, as demonstrated in the above picture. By the way, please forgive the horrible color combination of an orange hair clip with a green dress.

Tiny hair accessories are not my best friend.

Seriously, my wife bought enough hair ties and small clips to hold up a girl’s hair on prom, and they are useless to me. I blame a combination my giant and awkward fingers, C’s thin, wispy hair, and the fact that she never holds still while I try to put a clip in.

I’m jealous of my wife because she manages to put these miniature hair accessories on, no problem. After watching me muff several attempts, she usually takes over and is done in ten seconds.

My wife did her hair in this picture and even though she's looking down, her hair manages to stay out of her face. It's magic.

I was serious about my solicitations on how to apply the tiny hair accessories because my wife is keeping it a secret from me. I think she finds my hair handicap amusing.

Until recently, I didn’t think C’s hair being in her face was a big deal. She fights me whenever I try to clip it up and it doesn’t seem to bother her that it’s always in her face, even though it manages to curl right into her eyes as if her eyes have some magnetic pull on her hair. That was, until my wife came back from the ophthalmologist one day with news that she had a scratched cornea, from a tiny hair in her eye.

Ever since then, I’ve been paranoid that C’s corneas will get all scratched up and she’ll go blind because I’m too incompetent to properly clip her hair back. Luckily that hasn’t happened yet, but I’m still going to lobby for a bangs trim soon.

You know, I’d always wanted a daughter. A lot of men seem to be frightened at the prospects of having a girl. Now I understand why. It’s because we have no idea what to do with them.

13 comments on “Someone Please Teach Me What To Do With My Little Girl’s Hair

  1. cribdiaries
    March 22, 2012

    Ha. I think you need to get ‘big girl’ hair clips. They will hold more hair and are larger for better handling! Good luck!

    • mrmomman
      March 23, 2012

      Yes, we have a few of those but they always seem to go missing. They definitely work better, as long as she doesn’t try to rip them out of her hair. Thanks!

  2. Nate
    March 23, 2012

    I’d let it go until its a bushy mess. Thats what I do with our little one. Its a nightmare to comb out, but she likes her hair this way.

    Cheers-

    • mrmomman
      March 23, 2012

      That’s a total dad answer and I love it. I try to do that, but a tangled mess bothers my wife too much and she handles the hair. Fine with me for now, I guess.

  3. vapurr@gmail.com
    March 23, 2012

    LOL dads trying to do their daughter’s hair hardly ever comes out well! After years of trying I’m convinced it’s just not in our genetic makeup. So nowadays I let mom do it or if she’s not around, use a headband :)

    • mrmomman
      March 23, 2012

      I’m glad to hear you’re with me on this one. Your daughter’s old enough where she can do her hair herself now so I’m sure you don’t have to deal with this anymore. Headbands work sometimes.

  4. Irene Stetson
    March 23, 2012

    Suggest you ask Paul how he did Candice’s hair. From what I remember he would hold her between his legs while he did it so that she would hold still. Also, do think it’s time for C to get a “styling.”

  5. youngsub91
    March 23, 2012

    Your daughter’s hair looks really fine. Fine hair can be tough to “hold on to.” Perhaps try headbands, or maybe, if you really practice, you can make a french braid headband like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8bcykPEiVyQ

    • mrmomman
      March 23, 2012

      That’s an awesome video and I’ve somehow managed to go my whole life without ever seeing a girl wear her hair like that. It’s pretty, but way too advanced for me. It would take a really, really, really long time for me to master that. I’ll have to bookmark the tutorial for when she gets older, though. Thanks!

      • youngsub91
        March 23, 2012

        There are plenty of youtube videos to show dads like you how to do hair…don’t give up! :)

  6. The J85
    March 23, 2012

    I am a mom, but girl’s hair is impossible for me too. Headband and ponytail is the only way to go…if that ends up looking messy but keeps hair out of the face, who cares! She’s a kid!

    • mrmomman
      March 23, 2012

      I’m glad it’s not just us dads that have a hard time with it. I think the messy ponytail is really cute, but again, my not so nimble fingers have a difficult time putting her hair in a ponytail to begin with. The general consensus seems to be that headbands are the best way to go.

  7. happykidshappymom
    March 24, 2012

    This is so sweet. Your little girl is lucky to have such a caring dad! With fine hair, it is next to impossible for the clips to stay in. And, at least with my daughter, headbands are too tempting to pull off. :) My only suggestion is to take a section of her hair in the front, and make a tiny ponytail atop her head. Like this silly photo I found on Flickr: http://flic.kr/p/5KdtqM. The little “wispies” in front can be clipped back with a barrette. Anyway, good luck, and again, very sweet post.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 22, 2012 by in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

