mrmomman

I haven't figured this out yet . . .

Ball Pits And Dance Parties

If you’ve read my last post on balls, then this picture will reinforce what I say about them. This picture makes me want to be a kid again. In fact, it’s a little upsetting that there aren’t places where adults can go to play in a giant adult sized ball pit. Well, maybe there are because I haven’t been everywhere, but if there are, there definitely aren’t enough of them around.

Maybe I’m just forgetful, but I actually can’t ever remember playing in a ball pit. Anywhere. I grew up in Honolulu and I think when I was a kid there was one McDonald’s that had a ball pit, but we never went to that one. I don’t recall seeing them anywhere as a kid. Now that I’m a dad I see them everywhere I go. I can go certain places where there will be at least three or four ball pit locations if you go one mile in any direction.

If you’ve ever been deprived of this childhood joy or any other, you have my empathy.

Not that it has anything to do with balls, but my son has recently taken a greater interest in music. I wish I had a better picture, or even video of his dancing, but despite his solipsistic nature, he sometimes gets camera shy. It was a miniscule miracle to get this one.

The cool thing about this newfound love of music is that every time a song comes on, it becomes a dance party. He’ll shout, “dance party,” and we all start dancing. This is also the case with slow songs.

If you’ve never seen a small child dance, then you haven’t lived. It’s enormously entertaining and will make you forget any self-conscious feelings of embarrassment you may have towards dancing. It’s quite liberating to just put on a song and start having a dance party as if you were in the middle of a broadway musical.

If you want to give it a try, I strongly suggest it. You’ll likely have more fun doing that, than anything else you do all day.

5 comments on “Ball Pits And Dance Parties

  1. Candice Navas
    January 8, 2012

    Ball pits although fun can also be a danger! What Mrmomman didn’t mention is that the ball pit our daughter is in, in the above picture is at her private gym so it’s clean and free of poop,germs, and trash. Sadly this isn’t always the case with public ball pits so they are becoming harder to find these days.

    Dance parties are the GREATEST! We love them in the dark with glow sticks and flash lights!

  2. mrmomman
    January 8, 2012

    The ball pit is also free of needles. That’s another danger I forgot to mention.

  3. The Pitballs
    January 10, 2012

    “There aren’t places where adults can go to play in a giant adult sized ball pit”…I thought the same thing, so I’m building my own! There is something about a ball pit that brings out your inner child.

    http://www.facebook.com/pitballs

    • mrmomman
      January 10, 2012

      Ooohhh. Build your own, hmmmm? That’s a good idea.

  4. Pingback: A Day Of Firsts « mrmomman

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2012 by in Family, Parenting, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

